First and foremost – don’t panic and lose your temperament when stopped by police.
Be polite and respectful to the police and that will make any experience you have during that particular encounter, going forward, less stressful for you and the officer.
As the good lawyer said, keep your mouth closed and don’t make any admission of your involvement in any criminal offense. This includes admitting to the crime of driving while under the influence of drugs & driving while intoxicated. Most importantly, be polite and decent with officer. The last thing you need is repercussions for giving the public servant a hard time.
If you have respectfully declined all attempts from the officer to get you to incriminate yourself and he keeps bugging you, ask him to allow you to contact your lawyer so he can direct his questions to correct party. Your lawyer is best qualified to speak on your behalf with the police, let them handle it.
What do I do if I’m stopped by police after drinking?
Driving with a suspended license in the State of Texas is a criminal offense. What this means if you are caught behind the wheel of a vehicle, driving on public roads, and are pulled over by the police for any reason, you just bought yourself a one-way ticket to jail.
The Houston Police Will Arrest You
From time to time, the Houston police have been known to work with people, and let them off on some petty offenses they are caught engaged in, while driving. Even possession of small amounts of marijuana may be overlooked, but if you are found to have been driving with a suspended license, they may treat you like a felony suspect and arrest you with the aggressiveness best reserved for murderers and child molesters.
Penalties for DWLS (Driving While License Suspended)
If you are found guilty for driving with a suspended license you are looking at a Class B Misdemeanor, and possibly a Class A Misdemeanor for habitual offenders, and up to 180 days in jail.
Talk with a Houston Defense Attorney
Just bonded out of jail and looking ahead to a court day? We recommend consulting with a lawyer in Houston with experience dealing with these matters. Who knows? You may luck up on a top notch criminal attorney that gets the case thrown out of court.
It only takes one incident of being arrested for driving while intoxicated to garner life long detriment as a result. What this means is that you don’t have to continuously be arrested and charged with DWI to bring on lifelong repercussions for the criminal offense.
If you’re ever arrested for a DWI offense in the State of Texas, you’ll want to talk to a criminal defense lawyer with experience defending people against law enforcement’s allegations of driving under the influence of drugs or booze.
State Jail Felony
A State Jail Felony is committed when a person is charged with DWI while accompanied by a passenger who is under the age of 15.
In theory, a person could sit in jail, as punishment from 6 months to 2 years if found guilty of a Felony DWI with potential fines of up to 10,000.00.
As you can see, the State of Texas doesn’t play games when it comes to prosecution people who drive on our roads intoxicated. Lots of innocent people are killed annually as a result of a car accident that could have been prevented if the drivers on the road are sober.
If you are ever facing criminal charges for a DWI, hire a Texas DWI Lawyer that will be able to possibly beat the charges.
A Look at Felony DWI Charges in Texas
Being charged from a criminal offense like DWI will require the assistance of good Houston attorney that knows the law, and scientific procedure as it relates to DWI charges.
Since there are a lot of innocent people who get killed on Texas roads as a result of intoxicated motorists, courts and juries harshly prosecute these criminal offenses.
If you do find yourself arrested for a Felony DWI, contact a a Texas DWI Defense Lawyer as soon as possible so you will have the best chance of winning your case in the court of law.